Eat Clean – Eat Cookies!

Image

can i haz jus’ 1?

Unbelievably easy cookies… only 6 ingredients. Low-fat, low sugar, dairy-free, & no flour. Hmm sounds too good to be true… they probably taste horrible. Who in their right mind would want to eat these…

Umm, I’m here to tell ya, they’re dee-lish. Best part? I felt no eaters-remorse. No ****-I-just-canceled-out-that-workout-earlier-today feeling. Completely guilt-free, happy cookie-eating Rachel 🙂 This was actually my first time trying almond butter (simply because it’s more expensive). It definitely does have a distinct taste. I would compare it to my experience of swapping from cow milk to soy & almond milk. Tasted a little different at first, but it quickly grew on me & now that’s all I drink.

These cookies also passed the boyfriend test. He said, “they don’t taste like Pillsbury… but they’re pretty dang good.”  Word. As you can tell by the picture, Reese turned on the puppy eyes for these. She’s obsessed with peanut butter, but I think she was just as enthralled by the almond butter.

I have a sweet tooth like none other. Most of the time I do a very good job at controlling it… however, I walk into a bakery and literally feel the anxiety building. My inner struggle. Do I splurge? No, I can’t. I splurged 2 days ago. No Rachel, no. I continue to stare at the cakes and try to rationalize in my head why it would be okay for me to have a slice.  Sometimes I just have to slap my inner fat kid & get a grip. If not, I’d be eating cake for every meal. Seriously.

My very general guideline for sweets (that I try oh so hard to stick with) is to save the full fat stuff for holidays & birthdays… & stick with the healthier versions for everyday noms. This recipe came from Clean Eating magazine’s website.

Image

  • 1 cup unsalted almond butter
  • 3/4 cup organic cane sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3 oz dark chocolate (supposed to be 70% cocoa or greater, which I couldn’t find at Publix)

Mix everything together except the chocolate. Then break the chocolate into small pieces, which I did by putting it in a ziplock bag so it wouldn’t melt all over my fingers. Then mix the chocolate into the batter.  They said it will make 24 cookies if you use tablespoon sized dough.  I didn’t measure & got around 17. Bake at 350 for about 10 minutes & VOILA! Omnomnom.

Image

7 responses

Leave a comment